TimeMachineEditor is a software for OS X that lets you change the default one-hour backup interval of Time Machine. You can change the interval or create a more sophisticated scheduling (see screenshots below).

This is useful if you don’t need to backup every hour and don’t want the performance penalty. This is also especially useful if you manipulate lots of data within one hour as you would spend the whole day backing up.

Download (updated 11.22.15)

Additional screenshots

TimeMachineEditor 4.3

Requires OS X 10.9 or newer (El Capitan included).

What’s new?

This version includes a brand new scheduler that fixes long standing issues. The expected behavior for this version is the following:

  1. -When Inactive: may backup several times per-day as long as the appropriate criteria of inactivity are met.

  2. -Interval, every _ hours: actual backup times may differ a bit from the interval as it will try to backup at the most appropriate times, but the interval will be respected on average.

  3. -Interval, every _ days: will backup when you are not actively using the machine once the specified number of days have passed since the previous backup.

  4. -Calendar Intervals: this is the one to use if you need backups to occur at precise times, otherwise you’d be better off with one of the other modes of operation.

Just let me know if anything is not working as expected.

How does it work?

TimeMachineEditor triggers Time Machine backups when it is most appropriate, the whole backup process is still handled by Time Machine. TimeMachineEditor is not a “hack”, it does not modify system files nor does it do any other nasty thing.

TimeMachineEditor is free software.


You can contact us by e-mail.


Should I turn the big switch from the Time Machine preferences to OFF?

Yes and TimeMachineEditor will do that automatically for you. Doing that merely disables the default one-hour scheduler since will now be using TimeMachineEditor to trigger the backups.

Do I need to keep the application running all the time?

No. You just need to use the application when you want to change the settings.

How does TimeMachineEditor preserve/discard backups?

TimeMachineEditor does not change that, it is handled by Time Machine. Time Machine will coalesce and discard backups as described in the Time Machine system preference pane.

How do I uninstall TimeMachineEditor?

Use TimeMachineEditor one last time to turn it OFF, then just trash the application.

Look at the Time Machine logs to get more information about Time Machine’s activity: